En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour nous permettre de réaliser des statistiques de visites. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos cookies.

The Atlantic Arc Commission of the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions

AAC : the Atlantic Arc Commission of the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions

The Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR) is a French association created in 1973. It gathers over 150 coastal regions from 25 countries (both EU members and non-members). Representing close to 200 million citizens, the CPMR promotes a more balanced development of the European territory. Its main objectives are the development of the social, economic and territorial cohesion, of the blue growth and maritime policies, or even of accessibility. The European governance, energy and climate change, development policies also constitute important activity sectors of the association.

The Arc Atlantic Commission (AAC)

The AAC is one of the six CPMR geographical commissions. It gathers 17 regions in 5 countries, from Ireland to Portugal. It notably watches over social, economic and territorial cohesion, but also on the integrated maritime policy or the transportation accessibility in an area with a population of 60 million, amounting to 12% of the European population.

In order to pursue its goals and promote regional interests to the European institutions, the AAC is divided in six working groups, on:

  • Marine energies (chair: Brittany),
  • Transports (chair: Cantabria),
  • Fisheries (chair: Pays de la Loire),
  • Tourism and culture (chair : Asturias),
  • Atlantic Strategy (chair : AAC executive secretariat),
  • Innovation (chair: Nouvelle Aquitaine),
  • Task Force on “Transatlantic Strategy” (Juncker Plan) (chair: Basque Country).

The Region within the AAC

The Pays de la Loire Region assumed the presidency of the AAC on June 3rd, 2016. Its will is to rely on its mandate to ensure that european policies are optimally adapted to its maritime territorial specificity.

To do so, the Region will carry out a working programme defined at the beginning of its mandate, which revolved around 4 main priorities:
Increase the Atlantic Regions’ visibility by the European institutions and influence the policies that impact them directly,
Further its commitment to ensure that the Atlantic is specifically cared for by the European institutions, especially during the revision of European policies post 2020. It will be necessary to conduct a high standard lobbying, notably to promote the Atlantic maritime Strategy.

Support the Arc Atlantic Commission action in the implementation of the Atlantic Strategy and the Interreg Atlantic Area Programme,
New funding opportunities will be open by the European Commission in 2017 to make the Atlantic Strategy action plan more operational: those financial means will have to be maintained and benefit to the territorial stakeholders,

Mobilize the working groups to respond to European calls for projects. The six AAC working groups (Renewable Marine Energies, Fisheries and aquaculture, Transports, Tourism and culture, Innovation, and Atlantic Strategy) will be committed to develop highly concrete European projects with an Atlantic dimension.

Reinforce the political mobilization on strategic challenges for Atlantic Regions in key case files. This essentially covers the fields of accessibility as well as the support to emerging and traditional sectors (fisheries and aquaculture).

On the web :